THINGS TO SEE AND DO IN ST GEORGE
St George Visitor Information
“Award winning wines made from locally grown grapes. Tasting & sales available. Cheese platters and other goodies available at their outdoor café.”
- Whytes Rd, St George QLD
- Phone: 07 4625 3643
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Website: www.riversandswines.com
The Unique Egg
“World Expo accredited display of carved, illuminated emu eggs”
- Balonne Sports Store – Victoria Street, St George
- Phone: 07 4625 3490
Sandytown River Cruises
Sandytown Cruises includes 1-3 hour “Balonne river tours, full moon evening tours, bird watching tours, fishing charters, a ferry service, and is also available for party hire”
St George Heritage Centre
“A fascinating collection depicting the heritage of the town, including the old gaol and courthouse”.
- Western end of Victoria St, St George
- (07) 4625 5168
St George Pilots Memorial
“A memorial for Squadron Leader John Francis Jackson DFC, a Queensland grazier and businessman and Warrant Officer Leonard VictorWaters, the only known Aboriginal fighter pilot to serve in WorldWar II.”
- On the Balonne River opposite the St George RiverWalk
“Take a relaxing walk along the banks of the Balonne River. Our 2km cement walk offers a number of exercise stations to stop at, plenty of birdlife and a beautiful view of our amazing river”. Beardmore Dam “Well-kept parklands make Beardmore Dam a great rest stop. BBQ & Picnic facilities available.”
- 22km Nort
Jack Taylor Weir/ Andrew Nixon Bridge
“A cairn honouring the river crossing by Sir Thomas Mitchell in 1846 is located beside the Weir”
- On the Balonne River at the western end of St George “History of Cotton” Mural “The Jack Taylor Weir is featured as a vital component in the beginnings of the local cotton industry.”
- Balonne St, St George (at Ambulance Station)“Cobb & Co Coach” Mural “The Cobb & Co Coaches played a significant part for travellers in the early years of the Balonne Shire”
- At the Visitor Information Centre, St George “History of Transport” Mural “Painted by Peter Caporn, titled: “Racing the Storm”, “Crossing the Balonne” & “To the Sales”
- Scott St, St George (behind BP) Cacti Garden Display of cactus & succulents from North, South, Central America and many other countries, Entry by Appointment. Gold coin donation on entry proceeds to go towards Hear & Say Centre.
- Cnr Scott & Alfred Streets, St George
- (07) 4625 4190 Miniature Car Collection Collection of Mini cars specialising in die cast cars. Entry by appointment, please ring prior to visiting. Entry by gold coin donation with proceeds to Care Flight.
- Scott Street, St George
- (07) 4625 3636 St George Irrigation Project “Almost 12,000 hectares of cotton grown in the project area, the economic mainstay in St George.”
- Starting 8km south of St George on Carnarvon Highway
“Evidence of the pre-European search for water, the wells are hand hewn from rock by the Aborigines”
- On Moonie Highway and Barwon Highway Nindigully Hotel “Established in 1864, the Hotel has featured in commercials and the movie Paperback Hero”
- 45 km South of St George on Carnarvon Highway
- (07) 4625 9637 “Place of Peace” Mural – Thallon “Titled HES WYN meaning “Place of Peace” sums up what Thallon has to offer a weary traveller.”
- (07) 4625 9139 Railway Station – Thallon “Of major significance, the town was named after the commissioner of Railways, Mr J F Thallon.”
- Open Monday & Thursday (07) 4625 9166 History of Thallon” Mural – Town Park“Erected in 1996 to commemorate 150 years since Major Mitchell passed.” Bullamon Homestead “Built in the 1860′s, Bullamon was an early Cobb & Co change station.”
- Guided visits by appointment only
- (07) 4625 9217 on weekends
Railway Park – Dirranbandi
“The old Station Master’s office, built 1913, which has been revamped into the new RTC building and has a magnificent polished WA Jarrah Floor”
- Railway Street
- (07) 4625 8168
Centennial Walk Dirranbandi
“A Mosaic Walkway that shows a colourful artistic history of the town”
- Railway Street, starting at the Post Office
Jack Dwyer Memorial Park – Dirranbandi
“A great place to take a stroll along the Balonne river.”
- Charles Street Culgoa Flood Plains National Park “An ideal spot for roughing it for the weekend, bird watching and crayfish are plentiful when in season”
- via Dirranbandi
- (07) 4625 0942
The Hebel Store & Caravan Park
“Established in 1897, this historic store includes a BYO restaurant and caravan park for convenience”
- William St, Hebel
- (07) 4625 0920
The Hebel Hotel
“A Cobb & Co Station in 1894, legend has it the hotel hosted members of the infamous Kelly Gang”
- William St, Hebel
- (07) 4625 0923 Nullawokka Aboriginal Tours – Bollon “Heritage NatureWalks are conducted by a descendent of the Kooma people. Includes bush tucker tasting, historical museum tour & walk along the Wallam Creek.”
- Main Street, Balonne Highway
- (07) 4625 6147
- 0413 062 068
- Bookings Essential
Bollon Heritage Centre
“Filled with items telling the history of Bollon including the first telephone exchange from the 1920′s”
- Main St, Bollon
- (07) 4625 6108
Walter Austin Park & Rayner Place – Bollon
“On the Wallam Creek, the best place to catch sight of one of the many Koalas & native birds residing there” Thrushton National Park “Accessible by dirt roads, campers are welcome to visit for an ideal weekend getaway & bird watching”
- via Bollon. 60 km NNE
- (07) 4625 6128
“Better known as the “Two-mile Pub”, the hotel was Mungindi’s first business, established in 1908″
- Carnarvon Highway, Mungindi
- (02) 6753 2051
Heritage Park – Mungindi (ask at Police Station)
“Offers visitors the chance to experience life in the original old jail or worse, the school house.”
Barwon River Parkland – Mungindi
“Acts as the Qld/NSW border, and offers an ideal place to picnic, fish, rest and relax.”
One Ton Post – Mungindi
“John B Cameron cut and placed a one ton wooden post on the banks of the Barwon River, 3 miles west of Mungindi in 1881. This is the largest survey peg in Australia”
THE TOWN OF ST GEORGE
The town is 513 kilometers due west of Brisbane and the Gold Coast and sits just inside the region of South West Queensland.
St George in on the Balonne River which is reputedly an excellent fishing site for fish such as Yellowbelly and Murray Cod.
It sits at the junction of several highways including the Castlereagh Highway, the Moonie Highway, the Carnarvon Highway and the Balonne Highway. The only crossing of the Balonne River is the Andrew Nixon Bridge on the Balonne Highway.
The town was named by Major Thomas Mitchell who crossed the Balonne River on St George's Day, 23 April 1846.
At the 2011 census, St George had a population of 2,647.
The town is a centre for cotton growing, as well as sheep and wheat.
St George has a visitor information centre, cultural centre, swimming pool, showground, bowling and the St George Golf Club.
The town also has an airport and Balonne Shire Council operates a library in Victoria Street.